Ishiguro wins Nobel Prize for Literature

Ishiguro wins Nobel Prize for Literature

World October 10, 2017 21:06

stockholm - The English writer Kazuo Ishiguro is the winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2017. This has been announced by the Nobel Committee in Stockholm.

The committee called the Ishiguro novels of 'a strong emotional power'. 'The author explains the abyss of our alleged connection with the world,' said the committee.

The 62-year-old author was born in the Japanese city of Nagasaki. He moved on to his fifth to England, where he grew up in Guildford. He studied at the University of Kent and the University of East Anglia in Norwich.

Ishiguro has a limited oeuvre of eight novels, whose third, The Remains of the Day of 1989, is the best known. For that job he won the prestigious Booker Prize. The work was successfully filmed by James Ivory. The writer had been awarded the Whitbread Prize in 1986 for his book An Artist of the Floating World. He received from the French Ministry of Culture the Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres.

Award award means a return to the 'real' literature after awarding the award to the 'icon' Bob Dylan, songwriter and songwriter last year. The award made quite a bit of dust. The winner of 2017 can see an amount of 940. 000 euros in addition to the record.

Leave a comment

The is not responsible for the content of external sites.


Back to Top