US allows refugees again

World October 25, 2017 05:51

washington - The United States is going to allow refugees again, but there are sharpened entry requirements for migrants from eleven countries. This is evidenced by a law issued by US President Donald Trump on Tuesday.

Migrants from eleven unnamed countries will be subject to stricter requirements for a period of ninety days. They must show that they are not a threat and that their immigration is in the interests of the US, have informed authorities. 'This is in the interests of the security of the American people,' said the Interior Safety Department.

Trump previously announced different entry bans, with residents in particular mostly Islamic countries being rejected. These bans were often challenged by federal courts.

The current changes come after the expiry of a 120-day entry ban on almost all refugees Trump had issued. That law expired last Tuesday, on which Trump set a resumption of the US refugee program, but with additional requirements for migrants from eleven countries.

The requirements for family reunification have also been sharpened. Refugees must provide government with more detailed information from family members, who go back to ten years.

Refugee organizations have criticized the new rules, which lead to a virtually complete ban for refugees from the eleven countries. According to Reuters press office, it would be Egypt, Iraq, Iran, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. This is not confirmed by the authorities.

Leave a comment

The is not responsible for the content of external sites.


Back to Top