Pope Francis receives Charlemagne Prize

Pope Francis receives Charlemagne Prize

World December 23, 2015 14:56

aachen - Pope Francis receives the Charlemagne Prize 2016. This was Wednesday in the city of the European Peace Prize, Aachen, announced.

The pope, according to the suppliers of the prize a personality that in the current hard times in European and world politics a message of hope and encouragement radiating to many citizens in Europe in place seek , reported the Aachener Zeitung. The award is exceptionally next year will not be awarded in Aachen but in Rome.

The Charlemagne Prize is named after the European emperor and king Charlemagne, who died in 814 in Aachen. The prize is awarded since 1950 for outstanding contribution to European integration.

Under the 'greats of Europe 'who received the award earlier Winston Churchill (1956), Helmut Kohl and Fran├žois Mitterrand (1988), Queen Beatrix (1996), the euro (2002), Pope John Paul II (2004) and Angela Merkel (2008).

Leave a comment

The HOTRECENTNEWS.com is not responsible for the content of external sites.


Back to Top